A new year, a fresh slate

4 Jan

Like many others, I find the end of one year and beginning of a new one a perfect time for reflection. A time for thinking about all that was accomplished the year before, new lessons learned (or perhaps old lessons that took a few times to really “stick”), goals I came a bit short of and things I missed all together. The coming of a new year is also a perfect time to reflect on the good habits I want to bring in to the new year as well as the not so good ones I strive to leave behind, of which there always seem to be plenty.

This year, I put pen to paper to really outline what I want in 2011 and longer term. I actually found a framework for this activity thanks to Google (what did we ever do before Google?) with this great personal goal setting reference on MindTools.com. If goal setting isn’t something you’ve done, but would like to do, I’d defnately recommend their framework as a really easy way to get started.

After thinking about my short and long term goals in the categories MindTools suggested: career, financial, education, family, artistic, attitude, physical and pleasure, I decided no better time than the present to cross one off my list. So here I am authoring a blog, something I’ve been wanting to do for years, but hadn’t gotten past a couple of false starts with until now.

Why Social Swmimmer? Well, I’m an incredibly social being, almost to a fault sometimes (I simply hate to miss out on a good social opportunity), and though often swimming with the school of the day (work, friends, etc), I do occsionally chose to swim upstream. And I’m a Pisces don’t forget. Plus, Social Fish (my other blog name idea) was already taken by a social media company, of course.

I’m not sure yet what direction this new project will take me in, but I’m looking forward to the journey.

So…hop on in and lets go for a social swim, the water’s perfect.

7 Responses to “A new year, a fresh slate”

  1. micki (aka momma, icky...friend) January 5, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    Good (make that GREAT) way to start a New Year and/or continue on a path that will take you far beyond the land of dreams. Erin the best to you in all you do, you have never been afraid to try new…your canvas knows no limits!
    I look forward to your updates!
    momma

    • erinqueen76 January 5, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

      How did I *know* you’d be among the first to comment? I thought to myself…what have you to lose? You know your mom will read it if nothing else. Thanks for the vote of confidence. I’m excited about my new canvas.

  2. Becca January 5, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    Welcome to the blogosphere! I love your blog title and the meaning behind it. We live in a big ocean with lots of opportunity for amazing journeys. Have fun!!!

    • erinqueen76 January 5, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

      Thanks Becca! After one false start trying to get my own blog going back when I first joined HP, I decided to take the plunge (again). 🙂

  3. Stephen Foskett January 6, 2011 at 12:15 am #

    Excellent! I knew you had it in you to do something like this! I’ll definitely be following and reading, Erin!

    • erinqueen76 January 6, 2011 at 1:12 am #

      Thanks Stephen. Fingers crossed I continue to find interesting things to say. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Back From the Pile: Interesting Links, January 7, 2011 – Stephen Foskett, Pack Rat - January 7, 2011

    […] My friend Erin Collopy from HP is starting a blog: A new year, a fresh slate « Social Swimmer […]

Leave a Reply

