the art of ignoring everybody

10 Jan

Along with some of the holiday shopping I did on Amazon, I bought myself a book that I finally cracked this week called “Ignore Everybody: And 29 Other Keys to Creativity“. The book is written by Hugh MacLeod, the creative mind behind GapingVoid.com. For you Twitterheads, you can find him at @GapingVoid.

For those of you not familar with Hugh, he’s an illustrator who’s known for doodling cartoons on the back of business cards. He does prints and other kinds of illustrations, but its his business card doodles are what he’s really known for.

I absolutely loved the title of the book, which I’m really enjoying reading and am about half-way through. Just a few pages in to the book, readers see one of his illustrations with an idea that’s been on my mind ever since I read it:
“Great ideas alter the power balance in relationships. That’s why great ideas are initially resisted.”

It’s one of this simplest cartoons of his that I’ve seen, relying on the words to carry the message. And the idea has stayed with me all week.

You see, I’ve always been particularly drawn to creative people. People who can draw. Musicians. Digital artists. And even people who have a real knack with words. I love any excuse for a brainstorm. Others have described me as creative. And I’m *always* coming up with new ideas. Often more ideas than I can actually do anything with, so I’m sometimes challenged with choosing which one(s) to use or suggest. I’ve learned that not everyone values creativity the same way. Some people actually feel threatened by it. And Hugh’s cartoon offered an explanation.

I think there’s alot of good advice in Hugh’s book for anyone that wants to start their own thing. From the somewhat obvious advice to “put the hours in” and “keep your day job”….to the book’s title “ignore everybody” and a very pragmatic reminder that “the idea doesn’t have to be big, it just has to be yours”. Snuggie anyone?

Pleny of good advice and things to ponder for those ready to take a creative plunge, as well as those still working to figure it out.

Leave a Reply

